企业绩效管理网

 找回密码
 立即注册

QQ登录

只需一步,快速开始

查看: 1765|回复: 8

Publish Subset not in TI - why?

[复制链接]

66

主题

363

帖子

518

积分

高级会员

Rank: 4

积分
518
QQ
发表于 2014-6-26 22:25:01 | 显示全部楼层 |阅读模式
Hi All,

Many of us have probably come across the problem of being able to publish subsets- there is that useful excel function you can run to publish subset which doesn't work unless your admin (fair enough) - why this function doesn't exist in TI I don't know as all TI's are run as admin.

Anyone got any ideas why this is so? Tempted to request they try and implement it as its a bit bonkers otherwise.
回复

使用道具 举报

80

主题

402

帖子

587

积分

高级会员

Rank: 4

积分
587
QQ
发表于 2014-6-27 00:21:49 | 显示全部楼层
dubs wrote:Anyone got any ideas why this is so?
Probably because any subset created via a TI process is, by default, a public subset and thus does not need "publishing".
回复 支持 反对

使用道具 举报

66

主题

395

帖子

544

积分

高级会员

Rank: 4

积分
544
QQ
发表于 2014-6-27 00:23:17 | 显示全部楼层
absolutely but i'm talking about publish a private subset not creating a subset with TI- why can you only publish a private subset using a worksheet function when given that all TI procs run under admin should be available there
回复 支持 反对

使用道具 举报

76

主题

356

帖子

534

积分

高级会员

Rank: 4

积分
534
QQ
发表于 2014-6-27 00:51:59 | 显示全部楼层
dubs wrote:absolutely but i'm talking about publish a private subset not creating a subset with TI- why can you only publish a private subset using a worksheet function when given that all TI procs run under admin should be available there
You can't create a private subset with TI, why would you want to publish one with TI? This is an individual user type thing, where you go off and create your own subset in Perspectives, save it, play with it, and then when ready, publish as a public subset. Doesn't really sound like a task that's going to lend itself to automation. Count me in the group that says, might be nice to have but I would rather IBM focus their enery on more pressing needs, and there are many more that are more urgent than this IMO.
回复 支持 反对

使用道具 举报

72

主题

369

帖子

527

积分

高级会员

Rank: 4

积分
527
QQ
发表于 2014-6-27 00:52:42 | 显示全部楼层
well they already have the function which makes the API call so shouldn't be difficult

my sceanrio:

user creates a subset but is also taking advantage of all that lovely security stuff which restricts their access - user then wants to share a subset with colleagues and cannot because they aren't an admin (and quite rightly!) - the user cant use the publishsubset function as it will fail spectacularly (ie c++ error message) when they call the function from a non- admin id using excel - obvious choice would be put the function in TI so a user can click a button - have a subset published but not need admin access to do it.

honestly I know you may use it differently but so far trying to selling to a new crowd this is causing me problems -
回复 支持 反对

使用道具 举报

81

主题

410

帖子

598

积分

高级会员

Rank: 4

积分
598
QQ
发表于 2014-6-27 01:09:01 | 显示全部楼层
Dubs

I think that the nearest you can get to this in TI is the PublishView command. This Publishes a Private View, and makes Public any Private Subsets too. I have a TI Script that does this. There are a number of gotchas though. The publish will fail if a Public View or Subsets with the same name already exist. Therefore the user will need to be careful about naming conventions on the Private View and Subsets before they publish.

Regards

Paul Simon
回复 支持 反对

使用道具 举报

87

主题

373

帖子

564

积分

高级会员

Rank: 4

积分
564
QQ
发表于 2014-6-27 02:20:03 | 显示全部楼层
dubs wrote:user creates a subset but is also taking advantage of all that lovely security stuff which restricts their access - user then wants to share a subset with colleagues and cannot because they aren't an admin
Rather than publishing a private subset, if you merely want to share a private subset within a group of users this can be achieved relativaly easily with a TI script that calls a batch file to copy the .sub file from one user's directory on the TM1 server to another users directory.

Unlike public objects which are registered only when the server loads, private objects get registered when the user logs in. Therefore all that is required for other users to see their new subsets is to log out and log back in again.

... the same technique can be extended to private views but it is a bit more complicated as private views can contain private subsets so it then becomes necessary to read through and parse the contents of the .vue file and first copy the subsets. Still possible but much more complicated.
回复 支持 反对

使用道具 举报

58

主题

371

帖子

514

积分

高级会员

Rank: 4

积分
514
发表于 2014-6-27 02:20:24 | 显示全部楼层
cheers lotsaram I had seen this method before but the problem with it is that they would need to log-off.  Logging off and back on during an excel session can cause problems if you use VBA so its something I probably wont do.

The problem for me is that yes you could setup an excel interface to allow an admin to go in and publish subsets using the publishsubset function but why bother when they could just do it in server explorer? by adding the function as a TI function they would give us the flexibility to decide whether we want normal users being able to publish subsets or not. as it stands this lack of flexibility is a real pain!!
回复 支持 反对

使用道具 举报

90

主题

419

帖子

614

积分

高级会员

Rank: 4

积分
614
QQ
发表于 2014-6-27 03:15:03 | 显示全部楼层
worked round this with a kludge in the end, not ideal but does what I need it to do
回复 支持 反对

使用道具 举报

您需要登录后才可以回帖 登录 | 立即注册

本版积分规则

QQ|手机版|小黑屋|企业绩效管理网 ( 京ICP备14007298号   

GMT+8, 2023-5-31 04:43 , Processed in 0.072311 second(s), 37 queries .

Powered by Discuz! X3.1 Licensed

© 2001-2013 Comsenz Inc.

快速回复 返回顶部 返回列表