企业绩效管理网

 找回密码
 立即注册

QQ登录

只需一步,快速开始

查看: 266|回复: 10

Formatting Error

[复制链接]

75

主题

385

帖子

554

积分

高级会员

Rank: 4

积分
554
QQ
发表于 2014-3-20 08:50:00 | 显示全部楼层 |阅读模式
Hello.

Help please!

I am trying to extend our time dimension by another year using a TI process developed for the purpose.

Everything looked fine, until I looked at a metric named, No Specific I_YYYY_WWW. For the prior year (2015), the format is as expected, but for the year 2016 (the year I have added) the space between Specific and I is not there.

Correct original format - No Specific I_2015_P12
Format TM1 reverts to - No SpecificI_2016_P12

Initially I thought this was an issue with the TI, so deleted the 2016 metric and tried manually adding - with the space.

On hitting save, the format reverted to the space being missing. This is causing a problem, as the format is key for certain aspects of our code.

Does anyone know why this is happening, and anyway to resolve it????

I have tried adding a number of different elements into the dimension, but it is only the format No SpecificI_2016_P01 that doesn't work.

No Specific Monkey
No Specific I
No Specific I_
No Specific I_2016_
No Specific I_2016_P
No Specific I_2016_P0
No Specific I_2016_P011
No SpecificI_2016_P01
No Specific I_2016_P1

Thanks in advance.

Kirk
回复

使用道具 举报

85

主题

414

帖子

607

积分

高级会员

Rank: 4

积分
607
QQ
发表于 2014-3-20 09:53:19 | 显示全部楼层
I'm not sure why this is happening but have you tried forcing a space using: |' '|
回复 支持 反对

使用道具 举报

76

主题

403

帖子

586

积分

高级会员

Rank: 4

积分
586
QQ
发表于 2014-3-20 10:01:06 | 显示全部楼层
You should never have elements in a dimension where spaces are important to the system design. This is because as far as TM1 is concerned, spaces do no exist. What I mean by this is the elements:

No Specific I_2016_P01
NoSpecificI_2016_P01

both resolve to the same thing. These may look like two different elements but when TM1 evaluates an element name it strips out all the spaces.
回复 支持 反对

使用道具 举报

77

主题

412

帖子

594

积分

高级会员

Rank: 4

积分
594
QQ
发表于 2014-3-20 10:05:16 | 显示全部楼层
Tomok that's a sweeping statement. The spaces may be foreced by the database the information is coming from. Also some people do actually like to see spaces in element names.
回复 支持 反对

使用道具 举报

79

主题

390

帖子

562

积分

高级会员

Rank: 4

积分
562
QQ
发表于 2014-3-20 10:07:07 | 显示全部楼层
kgranger wrote:Hello.

Help please!

I am trying to extend our time dimension by another year using a TI process developed for the purpose.

Everything looked fine, until I looked at a metric named, No Specific I_YYYY_WWW. For the prior year (2015), the format is as expected, but for the year 2016 (the year I have added) the space between Specific and I is not there.

Correct original format - No Specific I_2015_P12
Format TM1 reverts to - No SpecificI_2016_P12

Initially I thought this was an issue with the TI, so deleted the 2016 metric and tried manually adding - with the space.

On hitting save, the format reverted to the space being missing. This is causing a problem, as the format is key for certain aspects of our code.

Does anyone know why this is happening, and anyway to resolve it????

I have tried adding a number of different elements into the dimension, but it is only the format No SpecificI_2016_P01 that doesn't work.

No Specific Monkey
No Specific I
No Specific I_
No Specific I_2016_
No Specific I_2016_P
No Specific I_2016_P0
No Specific I_2016_P011
No SpecificI_2016_P01
No Specific I_2016_P1

Thanks in advance.

Kirk
Kirk - As far as TM1 is concerned the element 'No Specific I_2016_P01' already exists.  You would need to first delete the element before you can add it with the space in the element name. But really this isn't important as you can query 'No Specific I_2016_P01' from any UI and TM1 will return the same result as if you queried 'No SpecificI_2016_P01' as element names are case and space insensitive.

Jim - I don't think Tomok ment that element names should not contain spaces only that it is not possible to have a design in TM1 where spaces are used to differentiate between elements (eg. you can't define "MeasureA" and "Measure  A" as being 2 distinct elements).
回复 支持 反对

使用道具 举报

79

主题

383

帖子

562

积分

高级会员

Rank: 4

积分
562
QQ
发表于 2014-3-20 11:05:23 | 显示全部楼层
jim wood wrote:Tomok that's a sweeping statement. The spaces may be foreced by the database the information is coming from. Also some people do actually like to see spaces in element names.
That's why I specifically highlighted the word important, meaning it has a significance other than just cosmetic. As far as TM1 is concerned, spaces are only cosmetic because they are ignored for everything except display purposes.
回复 支持 反对

使用道具 举报

73

主题

375

帖子

530

积分

高级会员

Rank: 4

积分
530
QQ
发表于 2014-3-20 11:07:07 | 显示全部楼层
Apologies. I mis-understood your point.
回复 支持 反对

使用道具 举报

80

主题

402

帖子

587

积分

高级会员

Rank: 4

积分
587
QQ
发表于 2014-3-20 11:29:42 | 显示全部楼层
kgranger wrote:Initially I thought this was an issue with the TI, so deleted the 2016 metric and tried manually adding - with the space.

On hitting save, the format reverted to the space being missing. This is causing a problem, as the format is key for certain aspects of our code.

If you are deleting and then adding what TM1 considers to be the same element in the same Dimension Editor session, and you only hit save after adding the element again, then the change to the dimension where you deleted the element would not have been registered before you added it again.

Delete the element, then hit save (and just for good measure close and re-open the Dimension Editor) then add the element again (with the space) and you should be fine.
回复 支持 反对

使用道具 举报

80

主题

399

帖子

573

积分

高级会员

Rank: 4

积分
573
QQ
发表于 2014-3-20 11:32:07 | 显示全部楼层
Thanks Andy Key, that solution worked.

I didn't realise that TM1 'ignored' spaces, so my actual coding would probably have worked fine.

The problem is when searching a subset for *No Specicic I_*, as it didn't return any values for 2016 due to the different format.

Thanks for all your replies.

Kirk
回复 支持 反对

使用道具 举报

84

主题

399

帖子

588

积分

高级会员

Rank: 4

积分
588
QQ
发表于 2014-3-20 12:07:20 | 显示全部楼层
TM1 ignores spaces except ...........

....... when using filter by wildcard in the subset editor.   

Stex

本帖子中包含更多资源

您需要 登录 才可以下载或查看,没有帐号?立即注册

x
回复 支持 反对

使用道具 举报

您需要登录后才可以回帖 登录 | 立即注册

本版积分规则

QQ|手机版|小黑屋|企业绩效管理网 ( 京ICP备14007298号   

GMT+8, 2018-10-22 21:56 , Processed in 0.195982 second(s), 13 queries , Memcache On.

Powered by Discuz! X3.1 Licensed

© 2001-2013 Comsenz Inc.

快速回复 返回顶部 返回列表