企业绩效管理网

 找回密码
 立即注册

QQ登录

只需一步,快速开始

查看: 421|回复: 7

feeding all elements from a single source.

[复制链接]

69

主题

365

帖子

511

积分

中级会员

Rank: 3Rank: 3

积分
511
QQ
发表于 2014-3-20 03:40:52 | 显示全部楼层 |阅读模式
Hi Guys,

I have a Sales cube having the following dimensions
1.Sales Facility
2.Year
3.Month
4.Market Segment
5.Product line
6.Market
7.Item Sales Group
8.Scenario
9.Sales Measures

I am allowing the user to enter values on certain intersection , and then I am using these values to calculate the entire cube.
Code: ['No Cust Class','No Product Line','None Market','No Item Sales Group','Budgeted','Amount']=STET;   

The user enters a total amount at the above specified cells and this value is used across all the elements.
Code: ['Budgeted','Amount']=N:['No Cust Class','No Product Line','None Market','No Item Sales Group','Budgeted','Amount'];


My problem is writing feeders for the above rule

Code: FEEDERS;
['No Cust Class','No Product Line','None Market','No Item Sales Group','Budgeted','Amount']=>
DB('Sales Budgeting',!Sales Facility,!Year,!Months,!Market Segment,!Product Line,!Market,!Item Sales Group,!'Budgeted','Amount');


Is this the right way to deal with the above rules in writing feeders, Request some one to please help me on this.

本帖子中包含更多资源

您需要 登录 才可以下载或查看,没有帐号?立即注册

x
回复

使用道具 举报

66

主题

394

帖子

536

积分

中级会员

Rank: 3Rank: 3

积分
536
QQ
发表于 2014-3-20 04:48:59 | 显示全部楼层
Try something like this:

Code: FEEDERS;
['No Cust Class','No Product Line','None Market','No Item Sales Group','Budgeted','Amount'] =>
DB('Sales Budgeting','Total Sales Facility','Total Year','Total Months','Total Market Segment','Total Product Line','Total Market','Total Item Sales Group','Budgeted','Amount');
Of course you will need the 'Total' elements in your dimensions.

And a warning - this cube looks like it will be big and slow if you do it that way. Skipcheck and feeders are only needed in case of any sparsity in the cube. Since it looks like you will be populating the whole cube using rules, you might as well get rid of skipcheck and feeders, keeping the same level of performance (which won't be great). And I don't really see why you would want to have that rule there in the first place. It doesn't look like a well thought through design to me, but then again, I haven't seen your requirements.

本帖子中包含更多资源

您需要 登录 才可以下载或查看,没有帐号?立即注册

x
回复 支持 反对

使用道具 举报

67

主题

407

帖子

559

积分

中级会员

Rank: 3Rank: 3

积分
559
QQ
发表于 2014-3-20 05:13:34 | 显示全部楼层
Hi qml,

Thanks a lot for the reply, I have tried the feeder as suggested by you, however it takes hell lot of time to save the rule at the end I have to force shut the window.

Is there any other way that I can deal with.

Additionally If I dont use skipcheck and feeders the cube is running very slow.

Thanks once again.
回复 支持 反对

使用道具 举报

86

主题

415

帖子

595

积分

中级会员

Rank: 3Rank: 3

积分
595
QQ
发表于 2014-3-20 06:36:44 | 显示全部楼层
qml wrote:It doesn't look like a well thought through design to me, but then again, I haven't seen your requirements.

['No Cust Class','No Product Line','None Market','No Item Sales Group','Budgeted','Amount']
At this intersection the customer would be entering Budgeted amount at the overall level, basically here he is doing sales by month.
he wants the amount entered to be split across everything using the % of actuals.
回复 支持 反对

使用道具 举报

70

主题

353

帖子

518

积分

中级会员

Rank: 3Rank: 3

积分
518
QQ
发表于 2014-3-20 06:58:41 | 显示全部楼层
karan2345 wrote:I have tried the feeder as suggested by you, however it takes hell lot of time to save the rule at the end I have to force shut the window.
Hopefully this will make you realise what you are trying to do. Yes, it takes a long time, because you're feeding a gazillion cells. But this is what you wanted, isn't it?
karan2345 wrote:Is there any other way that I can deal with.
There are probably quite a few things you can do. But, of course, it all depends on the detailed requirements you have. For starters, I would consider keeping the budgeted amounts in a separate cube if they are meant to be the same for every product class, sales group, market etc. Then you could use references to this cube for any other measures you want to calculate on the basis of budgeted amount. But they could hopefully be fed from the Sales Budgeting cube.
karan2345 wrote:Additionally If I dont use skipcheck and feeders the cube is running very slow.
Well, don't expect it to be any faster with skipcheck if all the cells are fed anyway.
回复 支持 反对

使用道具 举报

84

主题

399

帖子

582

积分

中级会员

Rank: 3Rank: 3

积分
582
QQ
发表于 2014-3-20 07:00:32 | 显示全部楼层
Hi qml,

Thanks for the suggestion, I would certainly try doing that way.
qml wrote:But they could hopefully be fed from the Sales Budgeting cube.

I am sorry I dint get what are you trying to say here.

Thanks once again.
回复 支持 反对

使用道具 举报

94

主题

397

帖子

605

积分

中级会员

Rank: 3Rank: 3

积分
605
QQ
发表于 2014-3-20 07:02:29 | 显示全部楼层
karan2345 wrote:[quote]qml wrote:But they could hopefully be fed from the Sales Budgeting cube.

I am sorry I dint get what are you trying to say here.
[/quote]
I meant that even with a 2-cube design you could try and avoid intercube feeders and feed within the same cube. Not that it is the key issue, but it always makes life slightly easier.
回复 支持 反对

使用道具 举报

90

主题

419

帖子

604

积分

中级会员

Rank: 3Rank: 3

积分
604
QQ
发表于 2014-3-20 07:55:27 | 显示全部楼层
The problem I see here, other than it's bad practice to just blindly spread budgeted input amounts along actuals, is that what you are saying and what your examples show are two different things.
karan2345 wrote:The user enters a total amount at the above specified cells and this value is used across all the elements.
Code: ['Budgeted','Amount']=N:['No Cust Class','No Product Line','None Market','No Item Sales Group','Budgeted','Amount'];
Where exactly is this value spread across all elements based on actual? All you are doing here is make every single Market Segment, Product Line, Market, and Item Sales Group equal to the amount entered in the
No Cust Class, No Product Line, None Market, No Item Sales Group elements. This is just making your total budget numbers invalid.

Assuming you wanted such a rule, it would look like this:
Code: ['Budgeted','Amount']=N:
DB('Sales Budgeting',!Sales Facility,!Year,!Months,'No Cust Class','No Product Line','None Market','No Item Sales Group',!'Budgeted','Amount')*
DB('Sales Budgeting',!Sales Facility,!Year,!Months,!Market Segment,!Product Line,!Market,!Item Sales Group,'Actual','Amount')
DB('Sales Budgeting',!Sales Facility,!Year,!Months,'Total Market Segment','Total Product Line','Total Market','Total Item Sales Group','Actual','Amount');

Other than just needlessly blowing out data for no good reason, you also have to realize that by doing this you can't budget in an account that doesn't have actuals because then the breakdown along actuals would not work. If that's OK then you can just use Actual to feed budget and forget about all our worries:
Code: FEEDERS;
['Actual']=>['Budget'];

本帖子中包含更多资源

您需要 登录 才可以下载或查看,没有帐号?立即注册

x
回复 支持 反对

使用道具 举报

您需要登录后才可以回帖 登录 | 立即注册

本版积分规则

QQ|手机版|小黑屋|企业绩效管理网 ( 京ICP备14007298号   

GMT+8, 2018-7-23 05:57 , Processed in 0.159384 second(s), 12 queries , Memcache On.

Powered by Discuz! X3.1 Licensed

© 2001-2013 Comsenz Inc.

快速回复 返回顶部 返回列表